Other

Chinese spareribs recipe

Chinese spareribs recipe


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Recipes
  • Ingredients
  • Meat and poultry
  • Pork

After searching the internet for a good Chinese sparerib recipe and not finding any that caught my eye, I decided to make my own. I use the grilling tray and rack to cook them.

35 people made this

IngredientsServes: 2

  • 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sake
  • 1 teaspoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated fresh garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder
  • 450g pork spareribs

MethodPrep:5min ›Cook:40min ›Ready in:45min

  1. In a shallow glass dish, mix together the hoisin sauce, ketchup, honey, soy sauce, sake, rice vinegar, lemon juice, ginger, garlic and five-spice powder. Place the ribs in the dish and turn to coat with sauce. Cover and marinate in the fridge for 2 hours, or overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 170 C / Gas 3. Fill the grilling tray or a deep roasting tin with enough water to cover the bottom. Place the grilling rack over the tin. Arrange the ribs on the rack.
  3. Cook in the centre of the oven for 40 minutes, turning and brushing with the marinade every 10 minutes. Let the marinade cook on for the final 10 minutes to make a glaze. Finish under the grill if desired. Discard any remaining marinade.

Recently viewed

Reviews & ratingsAverage global rating:(113)

Reviews in English (90)

by Betty

Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half, basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful, fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper.-28 Feb 2007

by STARFLOWER

Used this recipe for beef short ribs in my Slow-Cooker and we both thought they were delicious! I'm a new fan of hoisin sauce! Subbed tequila (sorry) for the sake cuz I didn't have any, and used red wine vinegar instead of the rice vinegar. Reduced the spices because of my husband, just a dash of 5-spice pdr and 1/4 tsp powdered ginger. Skimmed the fat off the sauce and served it with rice and salad. Next time, will make coconut rice and bok choy salad to go with it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!-03 May 2005

by Jillian

Wow! This comes really close to the stuff you get at a Chinese restaurant. I scaled this up to 10 for 5 lbs. of ribs. I didn't have sake so I used white wine and 1 tsp. of powdered ginger. I boiled the ribs for about 20 minutes first, then marinated them in some of the marinade all day, then put them on the grill basting them a bit. I then finished them in the slow cooker with the rest of the sauce for a couple of hours to get them nice and tender. If you want that deep red color, add a couple drops of red food coloring to the marinade. This stuff is awesome!-17 May 2010


Better-Than-Takeout Chinese Spareribs

Chinese-style spareribs that are succulent, flavorful, and over-the-moon delicious. Better than takeout by far, and cooked to fall-off-the-bone tender all on the grill. This Chinese spareribs recipe is absolutely the best.
This Better-Than-Takeout Chinese Spareribs post was sponsored.


Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siu) Ribs Recipe

Serve with: your favorite Asian beer brand.

Makes:

Takes:

Ingredients

The Meat

The Marinade

  • ▢ ¼ cup hoisin sauce
  • ▢ ¼ cup water
  • ▢ 2 tablespoons brandy (or dark rum or bourbon)
  • ▢ 2 tablespoons honey
  • ▢ 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • ▢ 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
  • ▢ 1 tablespoon hot sauce such as Tabasco
  • ▢ ½ tablespoon ground/powdered ginger
  • ▢ ½ tablespoon ground/powdered onion
  • ▢ ¼ tablespoon ground/powdered garlic
  • ▢ ¼ tablespoon five spice powder
  • ▢ ½ teaspoon red food coloring

Method


Make the spice rub:

Cook the ribs:

  • Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 300°F. Sprinkle and press 1/4 cup of the rub on both sides of each rib rack. Put the racks, meaty side up, on a broiling pan or a wire roasting rack set over a baking sheet. Lightly season the ribs with salt and put them in the oven. After the first hour, rotate the pan every 30 min. (Note: If you use two baking sheets, switch their position in the oven, too). The ribs will sizzle gently as they cook, and they’ll become tender after about 2 hours in the oven.
  • To test for doneness, pick up the center of the ribs with tongs the ends of the ribs should flop downward (this means the fat and cartilage have broken down), and a skewer inserted between the ribs should meet little resistance. If the meat between the ribs is still tough, keep cooking, checking every 15 minutes and rotating the pan.
  • Remove the rib racks from the oven, put them on a cutting board meaty side down (so they’re easier to slice), and slice them into individual ribs. Arrange the ribs on a platter (or stack them for a festive presentation), garnish with scallions, if you like, and serve with the dipping sauce on the side.

Make Ahead Tips

The tender, fatty meat of the ribs makes them hold up well to reheating. You can cook the ribs a day ahead and reheat them uncut, loosely covered with foil, in a 250°F oven until warmed through, 20 to 30 min.


Related Video

Be the first to review this recipe

You can rate this recipe by giving it a score of one, two, three, or four forks, which will be averaged out with other cooks' ratings. If you like, you can also share your specific comments, positive or negative - as well as any tips or substitutions - in the written review space.

Epicurious Links

Condé Nast

Legal Notice

© 2021 Condé Nast. All rights reserved.

Use of and/or registration on any portion of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement (updated as of 1/1/21) and Privacy Policy and Cookie Statement (updated as of 1/1/21).

The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with the prior written permission of Condé Nast.


Recipe Summary

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sambal oelek or other spicy chili sauce
  • 2 tablespoons malt vinegar
  • 4 scallions, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 1 rack pork spare ribs, cut into thirds lengthwise
  • Coarse salt
  • Napa Cabbage Slaw

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil. In a food processor, pulse ketchup, hoisin, sambal oelek, vinegar, scallions, and ginger until smooth, scraping down sides as necessary. Season ribs with salt and coat both sides with sauce. Roast, bone side down, until ribs are tender but not falling off the bone, 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Cut into single ribs and serve with slaw.


Related Video

Be the first to review this recipe

You can rate this recipe by giving it a score of one, two, three, or four forks, which will be averaged out with other cooks' ratings. If you like, you can also share your specific comments, positive or negative - as well as any tips or substitutions - in the written review space.

Epicurious Links

Condé Nast

Legal Notice

© 2021 Condé Nast. All rights reserved.

Use of and/or registration on any portion of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement (updated as of 1/1/21) and Privacy Policy and Cookie Statement (updated as of 1/1/21).

The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with the prior written permission of Condé Nast.


Chinese Spare Ribs

Chinese Spare Ribs are one of the Chinese Restaurant Take Out favorites. Armed with a couple of ingredients from the Asian section of your local grocery store you won’t have to go to the restaurant for these anymore.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Hoisin sauce
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons mirin or dry sherry
  • 1/2 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 pounds pork spare ribs

Instructions

    1. In a medium sized bowl combine Hoisin sauce, sesame oil, soy sauce, rice cooking wine, five spice powder, chopped garlic, honey, and ketchup. Stir until the sauce if fully blended. Pour over pork spare ribs and marinate for at least 1 hour. These taste better if you can allow them to marinate a little longer. Bake at 375 for about 40 to 50 minutes.
    Nutrition Information:


    Chinese-Style Spare Ribs Recipe | Grilling

    Each week Joshua Bousel drops by with a recipe for you to grill over the weekend. Fire it up, Joshua!

    On the commute to work a couple weeks ago, my co-worker and I were lamenting that for each excellent Chinese restaurant in the city, there had to be at least ten horrible ones--and there's hardly any of those halfway decent standard Americanized Chinese joints that dot the suburbs. Unfortunately, the little Northeastern corner of Queens that we inhabit has no Chinese that we can find that is even passable, leaving me to turn to my kitchen if I ever want to fulfill a Chinese fix at home. Because of this, I've become adept at making lots of types of stir-fries and some noodle dishes, but I decided to take things a little further and try my luck at some grilled Chinese, take-out style spare ribs.

    Based on my previous experience with home-cooking Chinese, I found a recipe that sounded like the right mix of ingredients to achieve the flavors I'm used to. So I whipped up the hoisin-based marinade, even adding the red food coloring to get that authentic take-out look, and let the ribs soak up the flavor overnight. On the grill, they cooked for a little over an hour over indirect heat at 350 degrees, then moved over direct heat until they got that caramelized crust that makes them so delicious. Everything with the recipe was spot-on: the flavors, the texture, and even the color. Luckily I made so many that I have a healthy portion still sitting in my fridge for those authentic Chinese leftovers.


    Recipe Instructions

    Ask the butcher to cut the ribs into the size you want. Even your local supermarket’s butcher should do it for you. When you get home and you’re ready to cook, rinse the ribs thoroughly and pat dry with a paper towel.

    Toss the ribs with the Shaoxing wine, 1 teaspoon sugar, 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper (or black pepper) and one egg white. Marinate for 1 hour.

    While the pork is marinating, prepare a small pot with oil and have it ready to fry the ribs. The oil should be at least 1.5” deep, so the ribs can be submerged under the oil when frying. Using a smaller pot requires less oil, and you’ll have to fry the ribs in a few batches.

    Once the ribs are marinated, sprinkle the cornstarch over the ribs to evenly coat them. I used a ziplock bag to toss the ribs with the cornstarch and get an even coating.

    Heat the oil over medium heat. It’s ready when you stick a chopstick in it and small bubbles form around the tip of the chopstick (or 325 degrees F oil temp). Slowly lower the ribs into the oil, making sure to leave some space between each rib so that they fry evenly. After 6 to 7 minutes, when the ribs start to turn lightly brown, turn up the heat to high (or 350 degrees F oil temp) for about a minute or two, so the ribs can really take on that nice golden color.

    Use a large slotted spoon to scoop the ribs out and drain on a plate lined with a paper towel. Repeat in batches until all the ribs are fried. Cut open one piece to make sure the ribs are cooked through.

    In a wok over low heat, add 2 tablespoons of the frying oil and the garlic. Cook for about a minute, and then add the ketchup. Cook for another couple minutes, taking care to avoid burning the sauce. Now add 1/2 cup water, 2 teaspoons light soy sauce, and 1/2 teaspoon sugar (or more if you prefer your dish to be sweeter).

    Turn up the heat to medium, and bring the sauce to a simmer. Add the ribs, and turn the heat back down to medium low, coating the Peking ribs in the sauce.

    Drizzle with a few drops of sesame oil and stir for another minute. Serve!

    Looking for more authentic recipes? Subscribe to our email list and be sure to follow us on Pinterest, Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube!


    Watch the video: Easy, Fall-Off-The-Bone Ribs Recipe 2 Ways Taste Show (July 2022).


Comments:

  1. Adalbert

    Yes too, thank you

  2. Eddison

    The very funny message is remarkable

  3. Alexandru

    Interested in making money for a webmaster?



Write a message